top of page

10 Standalones that I have enjoyed so far:

Hello,

I hope your week is going well so far.

Since I have done my favorite/least favorite series I thought I would also focus on standalones that I enjoyed/disliked as well. For this post I'll focus on standalones that I really enjoyed and would recommend.

1. The list by Siobhan Vivian - I thought this one was a pretty good read. I felt that I could relate to the main character at the time and I also thought the story was pretty interesting as well. It was also short book so it was a fast read as well. This is one that I would definitely recommend (4 stars).

2. Before I fall by Lauren Oliver - This was also another really good novel. It did get a little repetitive in the middle but it is about a girl that is supposed to relive her last day over and over again. There's also a movie based on this one I think (5 stars).

3. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell - I read this on soon after it became popular and thought it was really good. I could relate to the main character as well. I definitely look forward to reading more books by this author (4 stars).

4. Free to fall by Lauren Miller - This one was one of those "don't judge a book by it's cover" type of novel. It is a standalone set in a sci-fi world. I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed this one and found that some things were similar to the modern world as well. It's a 400ish page book but definitely a fast read as it has short chapters as well. I definitely look forward to reading more by this author (4.5/5 stars).

5. Just listen by Sarah Dessen - This was definitely the book that got me into contemporary romance novels. When I first picked it up I didn't really know what I was getting into but I loved that the characters focused around music. It was definitely a fast read and I have read more books by this author since then (5 stars)

6. The running dream by Wendelin Van Drannen - I read this one when I was in high school and loved it. I haven't read anything by this author since but I may look into reading more books by this author later (5 stars).

7. Six months later by Natalie D. Richards - I'd never read anything by this author before and while it did take me a while to get to I loved the mystery in the story. Since then I have read a couple more books by this author, though it may be a while before I get to another one. If you are looking for a good YA mystery novel I would definitely recommend this one (4.5/5 stars).

8. Frost by Marianna Baer - I thought this one was interesting. There was a bit of a mystery in it and the story kept me hooked from beginning to end though I didn't really like some of the characters in the story that much. I may eventually reread it to see if I still enjoy this one though it may be a while (4.5/5 stars).

9. Blue plate special by Michelle D. Kwasney - I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed this one. I read this one in 2013 so I don't really remember it as it was one of those books that I read before I joined Goodreads but I remember liking the characters. This might be another one that I may come back to and reread at some point as well (5 stars).

10. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson - This was another one that I wasn't sure about at first but thought it was pretty good. I think I've read a couple more books by this author since I picked this one up though I would be interesting in reading more by this author. This was also one of those books that I read before I joined Goodreads so I may have to go back and reread it as well (4.5/5 stars).

So this is my list of standalones that I have enjoyed over the years. Some of the ones that I read I was definitely surprised by and I would definitely recommend all of them.

Until next time,

Marybeth

bottom of page