top of page

10 of my least favorite Standalones that I have read over the years:

Hello,

I hope your week is going well so far.

In my last two posts I focused on both series that I loved and didn't like. For the next couple of posts I thought I would also focus on Standalones that I both liked and didn't enjoy quite as much. This post will focus on the books that I didn't like as much.

1. And then things fall apart by Arlaina Tibensky - I thought the characters in the story were really good but I had a hard time with the plot at the beginning of the story. The story is told from Keek's pov who is at her grandmothers house for the summer as her family is out of town and she got sick so she has to recover. The writing style was pretty good but I just had a hard time getting into the story at the time. I would still recommend it though (3 stars).

2. Mostly good girls by Leila Sales - I don't really know how I feel about this book. At times I thought it was okay, but then there were also other times where I wasn't really interested at all in the conversations that the characters had in the story. This was my first book that I read by this author though I may try more books by her if I can get them from my library (3 stars).

3. Bel Canto by Ann Patchett - This was another one that I don't know how I feel about it. I needed this one for a challenge that I was working on at the time, I remember there were some times when I read where I had to go back and reread a couple of sentences. It was a different read though and I am glad that I picked it up (3 stars).

4. Killing Britney by Sean Olin - This one was a fast read but I think it could have been a little longer. The writing style was okay, though I didn't really like any of the characters (3 stars).

5. Never been kissed by Melody Carlson - This was another one that sounded interesting but was just okay. It did start out a little slow for me at first but picked up soon after I started reading. I did like some of the characters though (3 stars).

6. After by Amy Efaw - This one sounded interesting but I had a hard time connecting with the main character (3 stars).

7. The lovely bones by Alice Sebold - I read this one when I was in high school and thought it was okay. The characters and writing style were okay but there were times when it was tough. (2 stars).

8. Stay with me by Garret Weyr - I think this story was about a girl who learns about a family death and goes to find out more about who the family member was. There was romance in this one and I think it might why I rated it so low. I also felt that the story started out slow for me and I had a hard time with the writing style. I would be willing to try it again though if I can get it from the library (2 stars).

9. The Six rules of maybe by Deb Caletti - I thought this book was okay. I loved the main character but there was a lot of descriptions in the story and i couldn't get into the plot as much as I wanted to. I think i read this book at a time when I was reading a lot of contemporary romance novels so I would be willing to give it a try again to see if I would like it now though it may be a while before I can pick it up (3 stars).

10. 17 first kisses by Rachael Adams - I read this one last year and remember story being okay but I wasn't really a fan of any of the characters in the story (3 stars).

So this is my list of books. I would still recommend if you enjoy reading contemporary romance, mystery, and nonfiction stories. All of them were interesting though and I am glad that I was able to read them to see if I would enjoy them!

Hope you have a good week!

Marybeth

bottom of page