top of page

10 book Series that have become my favorite over the years:

Hello,

I've read tons of books over the years and have found many series that I have loved and hated. For this post I will talk about my top ten favorite series that I have completed since I joined Goodreads. I'm not entirely sure how I discovered Goodreads but when I joined in 2014, I have read a total of 847 books though that list is probably longer because there are books that i have read before I joined Goodreads. As of right now I have 270 books on my to-read shelf and a handful of challenges that I am working on through some of the book clubs that I have joined in the last few years. I actually used to have over 400 books but I have deleted a lot since and have lost interest in a lot of books that I thought I would read. In the past I was always a mood reader and read books by what i felt like reading at the time, but now I mostly focus my books around the challenges that I am working on as there are a few that i have recently joined that will probably take me more than two years to read. There are still a lot of series that could have made this list so I may do a part 2 later but for this post I'm going to focus on some of the older series that I have recently finished or almost finished.

(Each link will take you to it's Goodreads page).

1. City of bones (#1, Mortal Instrument series) by Cassandra Clare - This is definitely my favorite series by Cassandra Clare. There are a few other series but this is the first series. City of bones starts off with a girl named Clary who finds out she is part of the Shadowhunter world. The setting of the story is in New York though later in the series they do visit different cities. I read this one when it first came out and instantly loved it.

2. Falling kingdom (#1, Falling Kingdom series) by Morgan Rhodes - This is another fantasy series that I started when I was in high school, i think, and have read it every year. If i remember correctly, its about an empire that takes over another country and the princess ends up having to live with the family that overtook the throne. The story follows from 4 different POV"s as well. There are also different battles and magic involved as well. Overall if you enjoyed A game of thrones by George R.R. Martin and Throne of glass by Sarah J. Maas, I would definitely recommend this one.

3. Vampire academy (#1, Vampire academy series) by Richelle Mead - This series came out when I was in middle school, but I didn't read them until later. I loved the characters and the action was really good to. There was a lot of romance if I remember but I also remember the series being really funny too. If you like paranormal romance stories I would definitely recommend it.

4. The angel experiment (#1, Maximum Ride series) by James Patterson - I read this series when i was in middle school. This story is about six kids who were experimented on, and now they are able to fly. They are 98% human and 2% bird. In the first book they are mostly traveling to different places and trying to evade the "Erasers." The story is mostly told from the main leader, Maximum or Max. I would definitely recommend it if you enjoy fantasy novels. There is also a movie that is based on the first book as well that just recently came out.

5. The Demon King (#1, Seven Realms) by Cinda Williams Chima - This was another series that I started while I was in school and I remember loving the entire series. There's also another series by the same author that came out not too long ago and while it wasn't quite as good as this one, it was still pretty interesting.

6. Glass Houses (#1, The Morganville vampires series) by Rachel Caine - This was another paranormal series that I picked up when I was in high school and didn't finish until I was in college. I'd actually read it before the whole series was out and didn't finish it so I had to go back and reread the series to catch up, which is why it took me so long to finish it but I loved most of the characters and the history about the vampires was interesting as well.

7. Into the wild (#1, Warriors) by Erin Hunter - This was definitely one of my top favorite series when I was in middle and high school. There are also a lot of other series and trilogies out there that are based around the four clans ad the events that they go through. The first book in this series is about a cat named Rusty who finds out about the clans that are living in the forest behind his home and he decides to join them. This starts his adventures as he learns about the clans . I would definitely recommend this series if you enjoy cats and fantasy series.

8. The Capture (#1, The Guardians of Ga'Hole series) by Kathryn Lasky - This is another animal series that I enjoyed. I think I picked it up before the warriors series as I remember reading it around 7th grade. It is a little darker than the warrior series but I thought it was interesting. The story starts off with an owl getting pushed out of his nest and ends up going to this school where he finds out what they are really trying to do. I think it may be more middle grade than ya but I would still recommend it if you like fantasy series.

9. Throne of Glass (#1, Throne of glass series) by Sarah J. Maas - This was a series that I didn't really get into until my first semester of college and loved it. The story focuses on Caleana Sardothein who is an assassin and must compete in a special event at the castle in order to gain her freedom. She then finds out information which leads her on a quest that continues into the series. The seventh book Kingdom of ash comes out later this year. I would definitely recommend this if you like fantasy and romance novels.

10. A game of thrones (#1, A song of ice and fire) by George R.R. Martin - I picked this series up when i first heard about it from the TV show. I found a really cheap sale on the entire series for the kindle edition. it is definitely not a short book as the first book took me two months to read, the second book me around a month or so, and the third book took me about 6 months or more to read. There is definitely a lot of action in it and there are twists and turns that you would not expect as well. I've definitely enjoyed reading the series so far, even though it has taken me a long time to work through them but it has definitely been worth it. I would definitely recommend this series if you like high fantasy!

So this is my top 10 series that I have enjoyed over the years. I hadn't realized that most of these books are fantasy series, though fantasy is usually my go-to genre when I pick out books.

I hope you guys have a good week!

Marybeth

M

bottom of page